About OC

The Alaska Native Village corporation for Unalaska, Alaska, formed in 1973 under the Alaska Native Claims Settlement Act of 1971.  Incorporated with an original 269 Unangan shareholders, OC’s shareholder base now represents about 492 original shareholders and original shareholders’ descendants.

Under ANCSA, OC is entitled to 115,000 acres of land on Unalaska, Amaknak, and Sedanka Islands. To date, the US Bureau of Land Management has conveyed approximately 112,000 acres. Selection and conveyance of remaining land depends on development plans. Much of the land OC owns is undevelopable given the terrain of the islands, but the land within the city limits was well chosen by early leadership. Site work done during World War II set the stage for development in later years.

Ounalashka Corporation is a profit corporation. Its business is land leasing and development. OC is the major land owner in Unalaska, OC leases land to commercial and residential interests — some short-term and some long-term. Commercial tenants include firms in the fishing industry and firms that support it, as well as firms in international shipping , sand and gravel extraction, retail, etc. It is the Board of Directors’ policy to lease only. Lease terms range from month-to-month rentals for apartments and units in Kashega Mini Storage to very long-term leases of 50+ years.

OC contributes annually to charitable organizations that benefit its shareholders and the community of Unalaska as a whole. OC makes monetary and in-kind contributions to the Qawalangin Tribe of Unalaska, the Unalaska City School for many programs, the Museum of the Aleutians, Unalaskans Against Sexual Assault and Family Violence, the Holy Ascension Orthodox Cathedral and its Council, and Unalaska Seniors, to name a few beneficiaries.

In addition to its contributions to Unalaska City School, Ounalashka Corporation has formed a foundation to provide scholarships for post-secondary education to its shareholders and their descendants, the Edna P. McCurdy Scholarship Foundation, named after a founding director and former teacher.